Adding user accounts
As an administrator, you have access to add and remove users in mCommons.
To access user settings:
-
On the right side of the title bar, select your profile picture.
-
Select Company & Users.
The Company & Users page contains the Active Users and Inactive Users tables.
The company name, ID, and key are listed at the bottom of the page.
From the Company & Users page:
For more information, see Editing user accounts.
Understanding user roles
The following standard user roles determine access to mCommons:
| Role | Description |
|---|---|
| Account Editor | (Highest level) Access to add, delete, and edit users in this account. |
| Editor |
(Second-highest level) Access to create campaigns and send messages. Note: Non-editors can only view reports; they can not edit or update any data. |
| Limit to Campaign Editor Role | Access is limited to the assigned campaigns. |
| Broadcast Require Approval | Access is limited to creating a broadcast that must be approved by an Editor. |
| Agent View Only | Access is limited to the Agent View only. The role cannot access any personally identifiable information (PII). |
| Analyst | (Default) Read-only access to view all reports and content. This role cannot take actions. |
Adding a new user
To add a new user:
-
On the right side of the title bar, select your profile picture.
-
Select Company & Users.
You see the Active Users table.
-
In the upper-right corner above the Active Users table, select Add a user.
The Add User page opens.
-
Fill in the user's profile information:
-
First and last names
-
Email address
-
Mobile number
-
-
In the User Roles section, select the role for the new user.
Tip: If you do not assign a role, the user is limited to read-only access to view all reports and content (Analyst).
Note: Creating a user on a main account with any level of access, except for Limit Access to the Following Campaigns, will assign access to both the main account and any subaccounts; creating a user with any level of access on a subaccount will limit access to the assigned subaccount.
-
Select the user's time zone from the drop-down list.
-
(Optional) To add a 32 x 32 pixel photo that will represent the user in mCommons, work with Gravatar (https://en.gravatar.com/) or other service and then paste the URL for the image file in the Photo URL field.
-
In the Email Preferences section, select the supported email notifications, for example, new incoming messages, new opt-ins, etc.:
-
If the user role is Editor, be sure to select Broadcast Scheduled for Approval Alert.
When a broadcast is added by a campaign editor with restricted access, it must be approved before sending. Any editor can review and approve a broadcast message, so to avoid unnecessary delays, it is important to ensure that editors receive an email alert when a broadcast message is ready for approval.
-
If the user role is a restricted Campaign Editor, be sure to select Broadcast was rejected to send a notification if a broadcast message is not approved. The campaign editor can then edit the broadcast message and re-submit it for approval.
-
-
To add a password for the user, enter a new password in the Password and Password Confirmation fields.
For guidelines on adding passwords, select Password Rules below the Password field.
Tip: To ensure password security, instruct the new user to change their password as soon as they have access to mCommons.
-
When you are done, select Create to add the new user.
Assigning the Campaign Editor role
Campaign Editor is a restricted role that allows the user to access and take actions only in specific approved campaigns.
To assign a campaign editor role:
-
On the right side of the title bar, select your profile picture.
-
Select Company & Users.
-
Select Add a user.
-
Fill in the user's profile information:
-
First and last names
-
Email address
-
Mobile number
-
-
In the User Roles section, select Limit to Campaign Editor Role.
-
Select Limit Access to the Following Campaigns. Begin to type the campaign name, and then select one or more campaigns from the pop-up list. To remove a campaign from the list, select X next to the campaign name.
-
To allow the user to build broadcasts for the assigned campaigns, select Editor.
The Campaign Editor can assign groups to a new broadcast. If a member of a group is not already a subscriber to that broadcast, then they will be automatically opted in to the campaign.
-
To restrict the user from automatically adding new subscribers to a broadcast campaign, select Broadcasts require approval. An editor will need to approve a broadcast message created by this user before it can be sent.
Tip: In the Email Preferences section, be sure to select Broadcast was rejected.
-
Select the user's time zone from the drop-down list.
-
(Optional) To add a 32 x 32 pixel photo that will represent the user in mCommons, work with Gravatar (https://en.gravatar.com/) or other service and then paste the URL for the image file in the Photo URL field.
-
In the Email Preferences section, select Broadcast was rejected to send a notification if a broadcast message is not approved. The campaign editor can then edit the broadcast message and re-submit it for approval.
-
To add a password for the user, enter a new password in the Password and Password Confirmation fields.
For guidelines on adding passwords, select Password Rules below the Password field.
Tip: To ensure password security, instruct the new user to change their password as soon as they have access to mCommons.
-
When you are done, select Create to add the new Campaign Editor.